IMESD Superintendent tapped for Education Investment Board

Release Date: 

InterMountain Education Service District Superintendent Dr. Mark Mulvihill has been selected by Governor John Kitzhaber to serve on the newly-created Oregon Education Investment Board. Pending Senate approval on Sept. 22, Mulvihill will become one of 12 members of the Board and the only representative from Eastern Oregon. This Board – chaired by Gov. Kitzhaber – will serve as a unified public education system that begins with early childhood services and continues throughout public education from kindergarten to post-secondary education.

“I am honored to be selected by Governor Kitzhaber for this position and to provide Eastern Oregon and rural education with a strong voice at a statewide level,” Mulvihill said. “It’s exciting to play a role in creating a seamless 0-20 education system for our students.”

One of the new Board’s duties will be to ensure that early childhood services are streamlined and connected to public education from kindergarten through grade 12 and that public education from K-12 is streamlined and connected to post-secondary education. In addition, the Board will recommend strategic investments in order to ensure that the public education budget is integrated and is targeted to achieve the education outcomes established for the state.

Mulvihill has a strong presence as a leader for Education Service Districts and education statewide, serving in a variety of capacities. In 2009, he was appointed by then-Governor Ted Kulongoski and State Superintendent of Public Instruction Susan Castillo to serve, respectively, on the state’s Quality Education Commission and Race to the Top committee. He is currently serving as the President-Elect of the Oregon Association of ESDs and is a member of the Confederation of School Administrators Policy and Vision Task Force. With his appointment to the Oregon Education Investment Board, Mulvihill will resign his position on the Quality Education Commission in order to balance his duties statewide and at IMESD.

Mulvihill played an integral part in the recently successful merger between the Umatilla-Morrow ESD and the Union-Baker ESD, which created the IMESD in June 2011. Prior to that, Mulvihill served as superintendent of the Umatilla-Morrow ESD since 2008.

Mulvihill earned his Master of Teacher Education from Eastern Oregon State College in 1992, after having already obtained a Bachelor’s of Science in elementary education in 1987. He earned his Doctorate of Education in 2007 from Lewis and Clark College.
In 1987, Mulvihill started his career in education as an elementary teacher and high school coach in the Pendleton (Ore.) School District. In 1995, he became principal of Blue Mountain Junior High in John Day, Ore. In 1997, Mulvihill relocated to Hermiston, Ore., to serve as an elementary principal at Sunset Elementary. He later became director of elementary curriculum/principal at Desert View Elementary in Hermiston in 2007, and then advanced on to assistant superintendent of the Hermiston School District in 2005 and deputy superintendent in 2007.

Other members of the Oregon Education Investment Board include:

• Richard C. “Dick” Alexander, banker and entrepreneur, Board member of the Children’s Institute, and leader in the Ready for School campaign to ensure early childhood success

• Julia Brim-Edwards, Director for U.S. states/global strategy for NIKE, Inc., Government and Public Affairs, Co-Founder of the NIKE School Innovation Fund, and former Co-Chair of the Portland School Board

• Dr. Consuelo Yvonne Curtis, Superintendent of Forest Grove School District and former member of Oregon Quality Education Commission for eight years

• Matthew W. Donegan, Co-President of Forest Capital Partners and President of the Oregon State Board of Higher Education

• Dr. Samuel D. Henry, of Troutdale, professor at Portland State University, former Chair of the Oregon Commission on Children and Families, and member of the Oregon Board of Education

• Nichole Maher, Executive Director of the Native American Youth and Family Center in Portland and Co-Chair of the Communities of Color Coalition

• David Rives, of Tigard, President of the American Federation of Teachers-Oregon and teacher of English to speakers of other languages at Portland Community College

• Ron Saxton, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of JELD-WEN Inc., and former Chair of the Portland School Board

• Dr. Mary Spilde, President of Lane Community College and Co-Chair of the Post-Secondary Quality Education Commission

• Kay D. Toran, President and Chief Executive Officer of Volunteers of America - Oregon and Board member of the Oregon Community Foundation, University of Portland, and Chalkboard Project

• Hanna Vaandering, elementary school teacher and Vice President of the Oregon Education Association

• Governor Kitzhaber has designated Springfield Schools Superintendent Nancy Golden to serve as his alternate in the role of Board Chair.

Accessibility Statement - The InterMountain ESD is committed to making its electronic and information technologies accessible to individuals with disabilities. We are currently in the process of upgrading our web site to ensure we meet or exceed the World Wide Web Consortium’s (W3C’s) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Level AA and the Web Accessibility Initiative Accessible Rich Internet Applications Suite (WAI-ARIA) 1.0 for web content.

For more information on how to report an issue related to the accessibility or how to file a formal Section 504 or ADA (Title II) complaint about the accessibility of any content on an InterMountain ESD website, please see our full Accessibility Statement.

Anti-Discrimination Policy - It is a policy of the InterMountain ESD that there will be no discrimination or harassment on the grounds of race, color, sex, marital status, religion, national origin, age, sexual orientation, or disability in any educational programs, activities or employment. For more information, visit the Anti-Discrimination Policy page.