New IMESD board members to be sworn in Dec. 6

Release Date: 

PENDLETON – The first meeting of the newly-elected InterMountain Education Service District Board of Directors will take place Wednesday (Dec. 8) at 6 p.m. at the Umatilla-Morrow ESD offices, 2001 SW Nye Ave. At this time, all seven IMESD board members, who were elected during the Nov. 2 General Election, will be sworn into office.

The IMESD is the result of a merger between the Umatilla-Morrow and Union-Baker ESDs, which will take effect May 31, 2011.

Newly-elected IMESD Board members include: Kathy Neal (Zone 1 – representing the Morrow, Ione, Ukiah, Pilot Rock, and Umatilla school districts); Kelly Bissinger (Zone 2 – representing the Hermiston School District); Verneda Wagner (Zone 3 – representing the Helix, Milton-Freewater, Athena-Weston, Stanfield, and Echo school districts); Jack Matlock (Zone 4 – representing the Pendleton School District); Merle Comfort (Zone 5 – representing the La Grande, Imbler, Cove, and Elgin school districts); Dale Bingham (Zone 6 – representing the Baker, Pine Eagle, Burnt River, North Powder, and Union school districts); and Joe McElligott (Zone 7 – At-Large, representing Umatilla, Morrow, Union and Baker counties).

Board members will draw for 2- and 4-year terms at the board meeting.

The IMESD Board will continue to meet monthly as the merger process works towards completion by May 31, 2011. The UMESD and Union-Baker ESD boards will also continue to meet at their regular times (second Wednesday of each month for UMESD, and third Thursday for UBESD) through May. The primary purpose for the IMESD board meetings until May is to approve IMESD policies, hire staff, formulate a budget, and approve the Local Service Plan and employee contracts. These efforts over the next six months will help to ensure a smooth transition into the new IMESD at the end of May.

The UMESD Board will hold its regular monthly meeting immediately following the IMESD Board meeting Wednesday, at 7:30 p.m. The UBESD Board will hold its regular meeting Dec. 16 at 6 p.m. in Island City.