Students conquer tough words at annual IMESD Spelling Contest

Release Date: 

Nine eastern Oregon students will have the opportunity to spell their way to a state title after winning their respective county divisions during the annual InterMountain Education Service District’s Spelling Contests May 7-8.

The contests were held for Umatilla and Morrow county students on May 7 at Blue Mountain Community College and May 8 at Cook Memorial Library in La Grande for Union County students. All of the participating students were crowned spelling contest champions at their respective schools, a requirement to compete in the county contest. First through 5th grade students competed in Division I; 6th-8th graders in Division II; and 9th-12th graders in Division III. The winner from each division is invited to the State Spelling Contest at the Oregon State Fair in Salem on Sept. 1.

Unlike a spelling bee, in which participants are asked to spell words out loud, the spelling contests require students to write the words down, as if taking a test.

The following is a list of division winners from each county:

Umatilla County
Division 1: 1st place – Isaac Cano, Washington Elementary (Pendleton); 2nd place – Taylor Greene, Rocky Heights Elementary (Hermiston); 3rd place – Megan Wright, West Park Elementary (Hermiston)

Division 2: 1st place – Josiah Niederwerfer, Sandstone Middle School (Hermiston); 2nd place – Tucker Wilson, Helix School; 3rd place – Henry Gehrke, Echo Jr.-Sr. High School

Division 3: 1st place – Cailey Hughes, Hermiston High School; 2nd place – Andrew Burcham, Home School; 3rd place – Catherine Reitz, Weston-McEwen High School (Athena)

Morrow County
Division 1: 1st place – Olivia Schmidt, Heppner Elementary; 2nd place – Jared Miller, Windy River Elementary (Boardman); 3rd place – Jillian Rudolph, Ione Community School

Division 2: 1st place – Ryan Ibarra, Riverside Jr.-Sr. High School (Boardman); 2nd place – Olivia Dominguez, Irrigon Jr.-Sr. High School; 3rd place – Demi Schmidt, Heppner Jr.-Sr. High School
Division 3: 1st place – Ky-Leigh Nelson, Riverside High School (Boardman); 2nd place – Kaitlynn Linnell, Irrigon Jr.-Sr. High School; 3rd place – Tanner Bass, Ione Community School

Union County
Division 1: 1st place – Devin Colwell, Imbler Elementary; 2nd place – Kristen Jones, Greenwood Elementary (La Grande); 3rd place – Elizabeth Babcock, Island City Elementary

Division 2: 1st place – Toby Aldape, La Grande Middle School; 2nd place – Hunter Lannon, Imbler Jr.-Sr. High School; 3rd place – William Mattson, Stella Mayfield Elementary (Elgin)

Division 3: 1st place – Ian McLean, Imbler High School; No other participants for 2nd & 3rd place


Accessibility Statement - The InterMountain ESD is committed to making its electronic and information technologies accessible to individuals with disabilities. We are currently in the process of upgrading our web site to ensure we meet or exceed the World Wide Web Consortium’s (W3C’s) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Level AA and the Web Accessibility Initiative Accessible Rich Internet Applications Suite (WAI-ARIA) 1.0 for web content.

For more information on how to report an issue related to the accessibility or how to file a formal Section 504 or ADA (Title II) complaint about the accessibility of any content on an InterMountain ESD website, please see our full Accessibility Statement.

Anti-Discrimination Policy - It is a policy of the InterMountain ESD that there will be no discrimination or harassment on the grounds of race, color, sex, marital status, religion, national origin, age, sexual orientation, or disability in any educational programs, activities or employment. For more information, visit the Anti-Discrimination Policy page.